Daily Muse co-founder and startup advisor Kathryn Minshew has started several startups and has the battle scars to prove it. In this 99U talk, Minshew shares common mistakes made by startup founders, and reveals the remedies to each. Chief among them? The “Gollum Syndrome” where founders treat their companies as “their precious.” Just launch and iterate, says Minshew, because “an ugly baby is better than no baby at all.”

Watch on YouTube

I spend a lot of time pumping myself up about the idea of my startup and I’m sure you do as well. However, once in a while its a good idea to take a step back and make sure you aren’t the thing between you and your startup. This video covers some very good points that have made be reconsider my current plans and if I’m on the right track.

I would recommend this for anyone currently thinking about starting a company as well as those at the beginning of their journey into a business.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started